KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 8 February 2013.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr I S Chittenden (Substitute) (Substitute for Mr D S Daley), Mrs V J Dagger and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. **Minutes - 14 December 2012** (*Item A3*)

- (1) In respect of the Appendix to the Minutes, the Governor Support Officer undertook to establish whether Mrs J Rumley had been appointed to the Governing Body of Castle Hill Community Primary School or whether her appointment was due to be considered on this occasion.
- (2) RESOLVED that subject to (1) above, the Minutes of the meeting held on 14 December 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs H Beaumont to the Governing Body of Whitstable and Seasalter Endowed CE Junior School in the light of the strong letter of support from the Chairman of Governors and because her attendance was only very marginally below the threshold.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mr J Perry to the Governing Body of Bean Primary School owing to the supporting letter from the Chairman of Governors which explained the health issues that had his low attendance.
- (3) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs D Braddon to the Governing Body of Thamesview School in the light of the supportive letter from the Chair of Governors which set out her contributions to the work of the School.
- (4) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs R Calvocoressi to the Governing Body of Edenbridge Primary School in the light of the strong letter of support from the Chairman of Governors and because her attendance was only very marginally below the threshold.
- (5) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors, and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.